Nobel Peace Prize Awarded To Liberian President And Two Others

The Nobel Peace Prize for this year was awarded on Friday to the President of Liberia, Ellen Johnson-Sirleaf and her compatriot Leymah Gbowee and Yemeni Tawakkul Karman, for their non-violent struggle for security of women.

The three women awarded the prize follow only a dozen other women among 85 men, as well as a number of organizations to have won the prize over its 110-year history.

The 72-year-old Ellen Johnson Sirleaf, called the “Iron Lady” by opponents is the first woman to be elected president of an African state.

Her compatriot Leymah Gbowee is rewarded for his work in mobilizing and organizing women of all ethnicities and all religions to end the civil war and ensure the participation of women in elections.

With the Yemeni Tawakkul Karman, the Nobel committee distinguishes a woman who worked for peace, democracy and the rights of women before and during the “Arab spring”.

The committee hopes that the Nobel prize awarded to the three women “help end the repression of women still suffer in many countries and express the great potential that women may pose to peace and democracy.”

A Nobel Committee is the working body responsible for most of the work involved in selecting Nobel Prize laureates. There are five Nobel Committees, one for each Nobel Prize.

The Norwegian Nobel Committee is the fifth Nobel Committee, and is responsible for the Nobel Peace Prize. It is both the working body and the deciding body for its prize.

Leave a Reply