Nominees For 2012 African Footballer Of The Year Award

2012 African Footballer Of The Year The Confederation of African Football has revealed an initial list of 34 players for its 2012 African Footballer of the Year award.

The African Footballer of the Year award is predominantly won by players based outside Africa.

A total of 34 players are on the shortlist for the African Footballer, while 32 hopefuls are gunning for the African Player of the Year award.

“CAF will announce the top ten nominees for the African Footballer of the Year by late October after the voting by the Standing Committees, namely the Media, Technical and Football committees.

“The names of the respective ten finalists will be sent to National Association head coaches and secretary generals to select the top three,” CAF said in the statement.

Nominees for African Player of the Year:

1. Abdelaziz Barrada – Getafe (Spain) and Morocco

2. Adel Taarabt – Queens Park Rangers (England) and Morocco

3. Alain Sibiri Traore – Lorient (France) and Burkina Faso

4. Alexander Song – Barcelona (Spain) and Cameroon

5. Andre ‘Dede’ Ayew – Marseille (France) and Ghana

6. Arouna Kone – Wigan (England) and Ivory Coast

7. Aymen Abdennour – Toulouse (France) and Tunisia

8. Bakaye Traore – AC Milan (Italy) and Mali

9. Cheick Tiote – Newcastle United (England) and Ivory Coast

10. Christopher Katongo – Henan Construction (China) and Zambia

11. Demba Ba – Newcastle United (England) and Senegal

12. Didier Drogba – Shanghai Shenhua (China) and Ivory Coast

13. Emmanuel Agyemang-Badu – Udinese (Italy) and Ghana

14. Emmanuel Mayuka – Southampton (England) and Zambia

15. Foxi Kethevoama – FC Astana (Kazakhstan) and Central African Republic

16. Gervinho – Arsenal (England) and Ivory Coast

17. Hilaire Momi – Le Mans (France) and Central African Republic

18. John Obi Mikel – Chelsea (England) and Nigeria

19. John Utaka – Montpellier (France) and Nigeria

20. Kwadwo Asamoah – Juventus (Italy) and Ghana

21. Moussa Sow – Fenerbahce (Turkey) and Senegal

22. Nicolas N’koulou – Marseille (France) and Cameroon

23. Papiss Demba Cisse – Newcastle United (England) and Senegal

24. Pape Moussa Konate – FC Krasnodar (Russia) and Senegal

25. Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang – St Etienne (France) and Gabon

26. Rainford Kalaba – TP Mazembe (DR Congo) and Zambia

27. Seydou Doumbia – CSKA Moscow (Russia) and Ivory Coast

28. Seydou Keita – Dalian Aerbin (China) and Mali

29. Sofiane Feghouli – Valencia (Spain) and Algeria

30. Stoppila Sunzu – TP Mazembe (DR Congo) and Zambia

31. Victor Moses – Chelsea (England) and Nigeria

32. Yaya Toure – Manchester City (England) and Ivory Coast

33. Younes Belhanda – Montpellier (France) and Morocco

34. Youssef Msakni – Esperance (Tunisia) and Tunisia

Leave a Reply