CHAN 2014: Keshi invites 24 players for match against Ivory Coast (Full list)

Stephen Keshi Super Eagles’ coach, Stephen Keshi, Thursday, called 24 players to camp ahead of the final qualifying match against the Elephants of Cote d’Ivoire in Abidjan on 27 July.

Ademola Olajire, the Assistant Director (Media) of the Nigeria Football Association, NFA said in a statement in Abuja that the match is to qualify the team for the 2014 African Nations Championship.

He said the 24 players are expected to report in Abuja on 15 July, where 20 players would be selected for the trip to Cote d’Ivoire on 24 July, for the 27 July encounter.

The statement noted that “Keshi has invited four new players, including one defender, one midfielder and two strikers, in line with a pledge to inject a few new faces, following last Saturday’s opening leg win at the Ahmadu Bello Stadium, Kaduna.

“They are Kwara United’s former junior international defender Ganiyu Ogungbe, Kano Pillar’s midfielder Rabiu Mohammed, junior international striker Abdullahi Gero of Enugu Rangers and Osadinye Joseph of Warri Wolves.”

It added that Sunday Mba, who scored two goals and assisted in the scoring of two others in the commanding 4-1 win, topped the list that also includes goalkeeper and skipper Chigozie Agbim.

Also on the list are defenders: Godfrey Oboabona, Azubuike Egwuekwe and Chibuzor Okonkwo, as well as midfielders Olufemi Oladapo and Ayo Saka, and forwards Muhammad Gambo, Ifeanyi Edeh and Dele Olorundare.

“Nigeria has a firm leg in next year’s finals in South Africa and Coach Keshi has promised that there will be no room for the Ivorians to attempt a spectacular come-back in the return leg at the Stade Felix Houphouet-Boigny,” the statement added.

The list: goalkeepers: Chigozie Agbim (Enugu Rangers FC); Daniel Akpeyi (Heartland FC)

Defenders: Azubuike Egwuekwe (Warri Wolves FC); Godfrey Oboabona (Sunshine Stars FC); Ganiyu Ogungbe (Kwara United FC); Kwambe Solomon (Sunshine Stars FC); Chibuzor Okonkwo (Enugu Rangers FC); Kunle Odunlami (Sunshine Stars FC); Benjamin Francis (Heartland FC); Ezekiel Bassey (Lobi Stars FC).

Midfielders: Sunday Mba (Enugu Rangers FC); Rabiu Mohammed (Kano Pillars FC); Olufemi Oladapo (Shooting Stars FC); Ayo Saka (Enyimba FC); Mohammed Jiya (Bayelsa United FC). Strikers: Muhammad Gambo (Kano Pillars); Gomo Onduku (Bayelsa United FC); Ifeanyi Edeh (Enyimba FC); Ezekiel Mbah (Akwa United FC); Abdullahi Gero (Enugu Rangers FC); Osadinye Joseph (Warri Wolves FC); Haruna Babalo (El-Kanemi Warriors FC); Etebo Oghene (Warri Wolves FC); Dele Olorundare (Sunshine Stars FC).

Leave a Reply